In 1551, the Cannet area had only one chapel dedicated to Saint-Joseph, situated in the heart of the Calvys hamlet. At this time, the White penitents' brotherhood (known as "Battus") is criticized for celebrating mass there, when the parish is located in Cannes.

In spite of this criticism and in view of the need for a church large enough to accommodate a growing population, the decision was made to build the Sainte-Catherine Church. Its construction was finished on the 6th of March 1556. The Sainte-Catherine hamlet immediately appeared around the small church, a population with a common religious life. This church was also at the root of the discord with Cannes that led to the separation of the two towns on the 9th of August 1774. It obtained parish autonomy in 1560, the earliest recorded baptism date of Le Cannet.

This small sanctuary has a captivating quality and authenticity. It holds a single nave with an apse, three lateral chapels and a quadrangular bell tower and recent vestibule. It would seem that the church was built in four successive stages: the primitive chapel, followed by the addition of a Southern and a Northern nave, and finally a porch in 1854.

The church has been registered on the French Supplementary Historic Monument List since the 29th of October 1926. The inside of the building is sublime. The ceiling of the vestibule is simple and white, its floor is laid with terracotta tiles, and marouflaged canvases – possibly dating back to the 18th century – are fixed onto the vault. Particularly noteworthy are: the two baroque altars, the latticed vault partly removed during recent excavations, the baptismal fonts, the tabernacles, the great paintings and engravings, two remarkable paperoles and numerous ex-votos.

In order to preserve this magnificent and important sacred heritage, approximately 500 m2 of decorative frescoes and motifs were restored in 2001.