Error
  • The template for this display is not available. Please contact a Site administrator.

In the heart of Cannet

A unique heritage

Patrimoine unique

From rue Cavasse to rue Saint-Sauveur, down an alley or a square, come discover vieux-Cannet through a varied, surprising and enriching walk. To be discovered:

The Tivoli

This garden was originally a field of olive trees and orange trees. These two trees – symbols of Le Cannet – are commemorated by the Olive festival and the many works of art evoking the orange tree. The name "Tivoli" is inspired by the Tivoli Gardens near Rome. It was also borne by a café established in rue des Orangers in the Prés neighbourhood in 1890. The project of building the square began in 1912 although the trees remained until 1950. Today, the garden is home to the Orangers kindergarten school, an open-air theatre, a nursery school and its children's library.

 

The Danys tower

Registered on the French Supplementary Historic Monument List since the 22nd of December 1941, it is located in the Danys hamlet. It was probably not built before the middle of the 16th century. It was mainly a tithe house, constructed by the Lérins monks.

Read more ...

Walking circuit

Circuit promenade

Opposite the museum, cross boulevard Sadi Carnot and walk down rue Cavasse.
This paved pedestrian street was known first as rue des Marchés, then as avenue du square. It was renamed rue Cavasse in 1868, in memory of Auguste Cavasse, Mayor and Doctor of Le Cannet. Look out for the 20th century villas designed by architect Stoecklin: their white stone stands out. Their thick walls, lime plaster, cornices, Roman tiles and wrought iron balconies give them a unique charm.

At the end of the street, go left down the shaded pathway of Jardin de Tivoli. At the end of the path, pass by the espace Bonnard, an old evangelist chapel which hosted exhibitions dedicated to Bonnard before the opening of the museum.

Follow rue de Cannes in which the Danys Tower is situated. Commissioned by the Lérins monks in the middle of the 16th century, it is the oldest building of Le Cannet to be preserved in its original condition. Originally used to close the entrance to the town, its door – now walled shut – was situated three meters above ground level and required a ladder to access it. Its roof – bearing nine machicolations – and its extremely few openings recall its defensive purpose.

Read more ...